Ironman Preparation

Being in an Ironman takes a great deal of effort.   It’s no longer being in shape alone.  There are a lot of lifestyle changes.  No more are the days are eating and drinking a whatever (although my stroke was a big factor before I ever thought about being shape).  I now eat lots of grains, veggies, and fruit.  I still eat meat, although much less of it.  And I pay much more attention my mental health, working hard to erase negative scripts in my head and filling it with truths about me.  I try to maintain a semi balanced life; not an easy thing to do.  I connect with my wife and kids, volunteer, go to church, read nonsporting materials, and visit friends, for example.

I do, however, spend lots of time and energy due to Ironman, from reading, talking, working out, and recovery from working out.  A lot of time…  I read about ways to build up endurance, foods and supplements to fuel my body, and ways to become more efficient in training.  I also want to find out want other triathletes do, both what worked and learning experiences.

I spend a fair amount of time each week swimming, biking, and running.  I try to do a couple of disciplines each day, but I take two days off during the week (Monday and Friday) because I need to rest.  Saturday and Sunday are reserved for extra long distances biking and running.  These next two weeks are lighter because of Ironman 70.3 Hawaii on June 4.  After June 4, it will be back to my regular routine but getting tougher because I’ve got two full sized Ironman in front of me… Vineman Ironman in Napa country in California at the end of July, and the big dance, World Championships Ironman in Kona at the beginning of October.

Yes, I’m excited to be able to participate, but I’m also intimidated!  To be able to participate in two half Ironman (70.3) and two full Ironman (140.6) is unheard of considering it all…had a stroke at 53, I’m 57 years old, didn’t start training until last October, and all the unusual circumstances (I personally hesitate to call it a miracle).

I am learning to rest, too. As hard as I train, I’m tempted to myself lazy, but I have learned (learning, to put it more accurately) the value of letting my body recharge/rebuild.

I would like thank Kona Bike Works, my coach Rick Rubio and team, and all the other sponsors and Friends of Kevin.  Without it, I would not be where I am today!  Truly!!

Stroke Survivors CAN!!image

 

Leave a Reply

